Breaking News

Shanghai Institute of Optics and Mechanics Scientist Li Ruxin Elected Academician of Academy of Sciences for Developing Countries

On November 3, 2021, The World Academy of Sciences announced the list of newly elected academicians. Academician Li Ruxin, a scientist of our institute, is one of the seven elected Chinese scientists and became the academician Jigan Fuxi (1993). After being elected as Academician Xu Zhizhan (elected in 2004), our institute is the third scientist to be elected as Academician of the Third World Academy of Sciences.

Academician Li Ruxin, an optical expert, is mainly engaged in the research of ultra-high peak power ultra-short pulse laser and high-field laser physics.

In the aspect of ultra-high peak power ultra-short pulse laser, he worked with his collaborators to solve key scientific and technical problems such as parasitic oscillation suppression of large-diameter high-gain broadband laser amplifiers, built a petawatt laser experimental device and achieved important application results.

In the field of high-field laser physics, together with collaborators, the cascade acceleration of the laser wake field and the generation of high-performance high-energy electron beams, strong-field high-order harmonics and attosecond light source generation based on coherent control of sub-periodic time scales, etc. important results.

He has won the second prize of the National Natural Science Award, the first prize of the National Science and Technology Progress Award, and the China Youth Science and Technology Award. In 2017, he was elected as an academician of the Chinese Academy of Sciences.

The Academy of Sciences for Developing Countries, formerly known as the Third World Academy of Sciences, was established on November 10, 1983 and is headquartered in Trieste, Italy. It is a non-governmental, non-political and non-profit international scientific organization.

The Academy of Sciences for Developing Countries was created at the initiative of Pakistani physicist and Nobel Laureate in Physics Professor Abdus Salam. In 2021, a total of 58 scientists from 33 countries and regions will be elected.

The Links:   PSND200E-12 LQ065T9DZ03